Skip to content
Which AI
OpenAI · updated 28 Sept 2026

Is ChatGPT Plus worth it?

ChatGPT Plus ranks #2 of 14 in our overall ranking of paid AI subscriptions, with a score of 76.4 out of 100 (very good). Its main strength: strong capability for the price — Top-tier models and features for $20/month. Across recent App Store reviews and reader votes, 76% say ChatGPT is worth paying for.

76.4
Very good · #2 overall
High confidence
Overall
#2 of 14
Coding
#2 of 14
Best value
#3 of 14

Price

$20/month

Switch currency at the top of the page. Official local prices are shown where the provider sets one; anything marked ≈ is converted at ECB rates. OpenAI has no local price list. It bills in USD and converts at checkout, then adds local VAT.

Source: help.openai.com · manually verified

What you get

GPT-5.6 in Chat. GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Astra in Codex, Astra with a small allowance (about 5–45 messages per 5 hours).

Usage limits, in ChatGPT’s words: Not stated against Free. Plus sits above Go (10x Free), so recorded as at least 10x.

  • Web searchIncluded
  • Deep researchIncluded
  • Image generationIncluded
  • Voice modeIncluded
  • MemoryIncluded
  • File uploadsIncluded
  • Coding agentIncluded
  • Desktop appIncluded
  • Mobile appIncluded
  • IntegrationsIncluded
  • API accessNot included

Models included

  • GPT-5.6 Sol
  • GPT-6 Astralimited
  • GPT-6 Sol
  • Epoch Capabilities IndexGPT-6 Astra166.6
  • Epoch Capabilities IndexGPT-5.6 Sol162.0
  • DeepSWEGPT-5.6 Sol72.7%
  • DeepSWEGPT-6 Astra74.1%
  • FrontierCodeGPT-6 Astra53.3%
  • FrontierCodeGPT-5.6 Sol47.5%
  • CursorBenchGPT-5.6 Sol41.7%
  • WebDev ArenaGPT-6 Astra1800.3
  • WebDev ArenaGPT-5.6 Sol1617.3

Independent results from Epoch AI, CC BY 4.0. New models take one to three weeks to be measured.

Strengths and weaknesses

  • Strong capability for the price — Top-tier models and features for $20/month
  • Access to the strongest models we track — Epoch Capabilities Index 162 ECI (OpenAI: GPT-5.6 Sol)

Generated from the score, so it cannot contradict it. How scoring works.

Questions about ChatGPT Plus

Is ChatGPT Plus worth it?
ChatGPT Plus ranks #2 of 14 in our overall ranking of paid AI subscriptions, with a score of 76.4 out of 100 (very good). Its main strength: strong capability for the price — Top-tier models and features for $20/month. Across recent App Store reviews and reader votes, 76% say ChatGPT is worth paying for.
How much does ChatGPT Plus cost?
ChatGPT Plus costs $20 a month in the US. OpenAI has no local price list. It bills in USD and converts at checkout, then adds local VAT. Price read from help.openai.com.
What does ChatGPT Plus include?
GPT-5.6 in Chat. GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Astra in Codex, Astra with a small allowance (about 5–45 messages per 5 hours). Usage: not stated against Free. Plus sits above Go (10x Free), so recorded as at least 10x. Included: web search, deep research, image generation, voice mode, memory, file uploads, coding agent, desktop app, mobile app and integrations. Not included: API access.
Which AI models does ChatGPT Plus include?
ChatGPT Plus includes GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-6 Astra (limited allowance) and GPT-6 Sol. Models that cost extra on top of the plan are not listed.
What are the alternatives to ChatGPT Plus?
Similarly priced plans from other providers in our overall ranking: Google AI Pro (#1, $19.99/month), SuperGrok (#4, $30/month) and Claude Pro (#6, $20/month).